Posts Tagged ‘Netlabel’

Phillip Wilkerson – Particle

January 10, 2011

Read the rest of this entry »

pous – electric city

October 19, 2010

pous - electric city

Read the rest of this entry »

Clem Leek – Snow Tales

September 20, 2010

Clem Leek - Snow Tales

Read the rest of this entry »

Vaia – Mi Drum, Mi Bass, Mi Casa

September 17, 2010

Vaia - Mi Bass, Mi Drum, Mi Casa

Read the rest of this entry »

Yara – Eternal Sadness

September 15, 2010


Read the rest of this entry »

Second Face – Second Face

September 4, 2010

Second Face - Second FaceThe folks at the Hungarian netlabel Limitless Audio got in touch with me because of your netlabel list which has been a great way for me to find new music — fans, musicians and curators all giving me recommendations. Limitless Audio has been added and I’ve been downloading. Happiness all around. Their most recent release, Second Face, is a debut netlabel work by Danish artist, Frank V. Jensen. Performing as Second Face, Jensen’s four-track ambient/down-tempo work is extremely pleasing and equally engaging.  It is worthy of space on your cramped iPod, especially if you, like me, are always searching for something new. If there is one criticism I have is that you can’t preview any of the tracks at the netlabel’s site. Though, the curator is working on rectifying that problem in the near future.. But, please, take it from me, this is worth a download.

Artist: Second Face
Title: Second Face
Netlabel: Limitless Audio
Release Date: 27 August 2010
Download mp3: zip
Listen: Unavailable

Tracks: 01. Sources Of The Sounds, 02. Stare Into Space (Stripped Remix), 03. Thirteen, and 04. Passing Endless Fields.

Hectic – Vector

August 29, 2010

Hectic - VectorTwitter is an absolute godsend in writing this blog. If you’re not on Twitter and reading this blog, which I highly doubt, get on it, especially if you love the free netlabel scene. There are plenty of curators, artists and fans talking about and recommending music. For example, after I built my netlabel list, the curator of Fwonk (@Fwonk) got in touch with me on Twitter and asked me to add their netlabel to the list. I did so happily and also I downloaded their latest release, Hectic’s Vector and was immediately impressed. This is why I do this blog, to find albums like this that I probably would have never come across. BTW, you can reach the artist on Twitter, @HecticTracks. Vector is a beat filled album that gets a great kick off with the first track, “As We Travel” (mp3). And then track by track, strewn with beats and samples, the album shows Hectic’s talent.  Tasty, tasty stuff.If you like Vector, check Hectic’s Soundcloud for more tracks.

Artist: Hectic
Title: Vector
Netlabel: Fwonk
Release Date: 06 August 2010
Download mp3: zip
Listen: Click below

Tracks: 01. As We Travel (mp3), 02. Vector (mp3), 03. Full Story (mp3), 04. Black Noise (mp3), 05. 2nd Life (mp3), 06. There Was Sound (mp3), and 07. Kingdom (mp3)

Mr. Bitterness – Epic Flail

August 27, 2010

Mr. Bitterness - Epic FlailTo put it bluntly, I have never been a fan of rock music on netlabels. Maybe it was my age and that I went through my punk rock phase a long time ago, or maybe it’s because there are so many crappy rock’n roll netlabels out there. Don’t get me wrong, there is a lot of shitty ambient, IDM,  noise, techno, etc. out there. Oh god, there is, trust me on this. But netlabel rock, in general, has its own level of suckiness, somewhere around a Brett Michaels’ crack whore and a Lindsay Lohan coke-fueled drunken binge.

Rant over, onto Mr. BitternessEpic Flail (Self-Released). I first came across Mr. Bitterness on Twitter (@mrbitterness) and he has an intenet personality which may put a few people off. Not me, I like it. Okay, he’s scares me quite a bit. Sometimes his tweets leave me cowering in the corner wetting my pants.

I first heard Mr. Bitterness’ song “Lost” (mp3) on The Future Lab (PublicSpaces Lab) (reviewed here) and it was unlike anything on the rest of the 20 song various artist work. “Lost” fit with the flow well, but it was quite distinctive. I wanted to listen to Epic Flail, but since this blog only covers free music and I thought it was only a paid release, it was a no go. But when I found out it was pay as much as you want, which means for me free, I quickly downloaded Mr. Bitterness’ EP.  But still it was a rock record and I thought I would have problems with it. Turns out that was not the case. Turns out my rock’n roll heart grew three sizes that day.  Listening to Epic Flail is like listening to the bastard child of Joy Division and Henry Cow. What makes Epic Flail a great rock record — and I have yet to test it on normies — is that at its heart it is also a great pop record. Just remember if you download the record, and you should, you don’t have to follow him on Twitter. 😉

Artist: Mr. Bitterness and The Guilty Pleasures
Album: Epic Flail
Netlabel: Self-Released
Release Date: 13 August 2010
Download mp3: Bandcamp
Listen: Click below

Tracks: 01. Breaking Down, 02. Days Months Years, 03. Lost, 04. Voices From The Other side, 05. Thinking Machines (Here Comes The)

Saiph – Diffusion

August 26, 2010

Saiph - DiffusionIt’s really hard to believe that Saiph‘s Diffusion (Dark Winter) is a debut work. Make no mistake about it that this work is dark ambient, Diffusion wallows in the depths of the shadows of your headphones looking for away in to your brain. This 45 minute work by the German act is no where near subtle but stays far enough away from the noise realm so that those who aren’t fans of the darkness might enjoy it as well. The three tracks get longer as the netplay goes on, but their composition is so tight one doesn’t knows that 10 or 12 or 18 minutes have gone by. And, if you like Diffusion as I know you will, wander over to Saiph’s Soundcloud page to listen to three other tracks.

Artist: Saiph
Title: Diffusion
Netlabel: Dark Winter
Release Date: 21 July 1010
Download mp3: zip
Listen: Click below

Tracks: 01. Einsames Element (mp3), 02. Im Sonnenwind (mp3), and 03. Der Letzte Mensch (mp3).

Marcus Fischer – Arctic/Antarctic

August 26, 2010

Marcus Fischer - Arctic/AntarcticOkay, kiddies, this is probably the last June release to be reviewed here. Who am I kidding? Even I, the editor/writer of this blog, am quite unsure what is going to transpire on these pages tomorrow, let alone a week or two from now. Marcus Fischer‘s Arctic/Antarctic (Luxx) is a lovely thought-provoking ambient work. The first series of recordings, “Arctic” is broken up into three parts with guitar loops, tape recorders looped and re-looped, and a tiny toy piano. Though split apart, the “arctic” tracks do flow together as one.”tropica”, the shortest piece on the album, intentionally uses the recording of wind quite nicely. “antarctic” begins with a pulsating drone — is that even possible? — and then loops, more drones and peacefulness for another 16 minutes. Fischer’s triptych is utterly mesmerizing.  Also, highly recommend Fischer’s self-released work as map~map, For Friends This Winter.

Artist: Marcus Fischer
Title: Arctic/Antarctic
Netlabel: Luxx
Release Date: 01 June 2010
Download mp3: zip

Tracks: 01. arctic 1, 02. arctic 2, 03. arctic 3, o4. tropica, 05. antarctic 1, 06. antarctic 2, and 07. antarctic 3.