Guanxi – Pixel

January 9, 2011

Guanxi - Pixel

It’s been ages since I’ve been able to carve out time to write a review, let alone download some wonderful music and get a real chance to listen to it. Okay, it’s only been over a month, but in internet time that could seem forever and  blah blah bla y’all didn’t come around to hear me bellyaching, so on with the show and, of course, I pick an album that was released in April 2010.

Back in the fall, Resting Bell released a work by Guanxi called Graveryard Shift. And like any good work, it got me looking at other work from the artist and there I found A Corner in England (Pitjamajusto) and Pixel (Top 40). All three of these albums were released last year and all three are quite good, but it was Pixel that caught my ear.

As I searched for information about Guanxi, I was reminded of the old bit from the movie Airplane.  Leslie Nielsen’s character says that they have to land the plane to get a women to a hospital. The stewardess says, “A hospital? What is it?” And Nielsen responds, “It’s a big building with patients, but that’s not important right now.” That’s kind of how I feel about Guanxi, it doesn’t matter who or what  Guanxi is or isn’t, what is important now is the music.

 Guanxi’s “The Iron Curtain” (mp3)

Pixel is a well-made ambient album, evenly paced and quite interesting throughout its 27 minutes. I found a certain amount of depth to the tracks that was relaxing as well as slight surprises that kept me attached to the album as a whole. You can’t go wrong with any of the Guanxi 2010 releases, but if you were only to download one, I’d stick with Pixel.

2 Responses to “Guanxi – Pixel”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Leonardo Rosado, displatypus. displatypus said: First review in over a month, Guanxi's "Pixel (@top40) http://bit.ly/eII0di […]


Leave a Reply

