Top 10 Reasons to Say No to Eno – Number 10

October 24, 2010

Number 10

Today (Sunday) begins my countdown to the new Brian Eno album, Milk Something and the Leaky Boat. If you follow me on Twitter, you might be aware that I’m not a big fan of all of this adulation for Eno. Don’t get me wrong, I think he’s extremely important musical influence on the net audio scene. But, this I believe passionately, there’s much work out in the netlabel universe that we should all be getting even more excited about than a 60-something pop music producer, no matter how important he is historically.

So, on to number 10, Mystified. Thomas Parks aka Mystified has been producing quality music on the netlabel scene for six plus years. Time after time, Parks crafts wonderful electronic albums that never fail to invigorate the listener. His work is never boring and always plentiful.

| CC licensed photograph by Caro’s Lines |

22 Responses to “Top 10 Reasons to Say No to Eno – Number 10”

  1. mystified13 Says:

    aww, thanks!

  2. displatypus Says:

    Thanks for all the great music!

  3. c. reider Says:

    That’s a very good reason. When Mystified is good, he’s really good indeed.

  4. kurt nimmo Says:

    Yes, Eno has faded since he produced those initial ambient albums. Can’t say I listen to him at all anymore, although I occasionally give Music for Airports a listen. As for music in one’s 60s… well, I hope to still be doing this is a year. I will be 60 in November, 2012. I wasn’t a 25 year old pop star, however. As for Mystified, he remains one of my favorites. A lot of inspiration there.

  5. displatypus Says:

    Kurt, the 60s slam was probably a bit much. For me it was tongue in cheek as I am rapidly approaching the big 50.


  6. I think the title can be misleading but this set of posts is a MARVELOUS IDEA to counterpoint Eno with all the work that is being released in netlabels. Congratulations David

  7. kurt nimmo Says:

    Yes, 90% of the music I listen to is from the netlabels. The internet was a godsend in that aspect!

  8. Phil Wilkerson Says:

    Great idea to point out others artists. I can’t deny Eno has been an influence and an inspiration to me; I still listen to his major ambient works. (Who among us creating ambient music can truthfully say we haven’t been inspired, to some degree, by his ideas?) But what higher purpose for his music (or anyone’s) than to inspire creativity in others?


  9. And I should point out, vis-a-vis, artists I have found within the netlabels equally inspire me!


  10. The only way in which Eno influenced my tastes was through his work with Bowie. I only much later gave his releases a listen.

    There are currently very few traditionally released artists who intrigue me and Eno is definitely not one of them. Netaudio is where I hear the most intriguing and innovative music these days. This series of posts is a very interesting way in which to bring that point home.

    I look forward to reading more.

    Peace
    Mike
    Founder/Curator blocSonic.com

  11. displatypus Says:

    Thank’s for commenting Mike. I need to reitereate in Number 8 that this is meant as a celebration of netaudio.


  12. […] Top 10 Reasons to Say No to Eno – Number 10 […]

  13. radiocitizen Says:

    Go to More Dark Than Shark at http://www.moredarkthanshark.org for everything about Brian Eno…

  14. mystified13 Says:

    I admit, I am still amazed by “The Drop”– except the last track. At first I really thought the whole thing was silly, but recently I revisited the material and loved it. It is on my portable player. Maybe it will be the same way with Eno’s “Small Craft”– we just have to catch up to him.
    As mystified, I would never claim equality or kinship with an innovator like Eno, but I do list him as an influence, and I am proud to be part of a healthy netlabel scene. Free music is where it’s at!

  15. kurt nimmo Says:

    Well, I admit his influence, too, but think the genre has grown beyond what Eno ever imagined, if he did. So-called “ambient” music is very large and diverse, maybe larger and more diverse than any other genre. I am constantly amazed the directions it takes off in.


  16. I look forward to the list and wonder how many on the list have been played on Sounds Of Ambience. Hopefully, none of them, as I am always looking and listening.

  17. Janet W Says:

    Now I am mystified…I couldn’t hear anything new or refreshing in Mystified’s music, the pieces leave me feeling rather empty. Sounds close to the same ambient “droning” one comes across on the internet million times a day. And I’ve been an avid ambient and electronic music listener for the past 25 years…

    Eno, on the other hand, still manages to make music that offers me new ways to sense and understand the world. Making music isn’t just about music and sounds, it’s also about how it connects to the culture and the world that are shaping around it at the same time (well, for me anyway). But I must say, I don’t find Small Craft as a whole very satisfying, only certain pieces on it are truly wonderful (the rest are just good and enjoyable).

    Well, I’m not trying to criticize someone’s like Mystified’s music – I’m happy that all kinds of music exist and are being made – I guess I’m more baffled with myself that I very rarely hear anything moving in these netlabel ambient/electronic offerings, despite being, as I mentioned, a keen listener. Perhaps it’s all to do with the mode of listening…

  18. mystified13 Says:

    Janet W– I agree that my music is a bit cold and isolationist and that turns some folks off– but please do not give up on netlabels at large. For example, if you like ambient with heart and soul, have you tried the latest from Lucette Bourdin and Darrell Burgan on Earth Mantra? Here is a link: http://earthmantra.com/release-detail.php?id=150 . Stuff like theirs is awesome. . .

    • Janet W Says:

      Thank you for the suggestion and the link! I listened to it and found some passages rather seductive.

      I guess having grown up with the English pop culture I’m very drawn to stylistic aspects in music. And so far I’ve just found it difficult to tell a difference between one netlabel release and another, from one isolationist or ambient piece to another: it’s all rather like one continuous ocean-like piece of music. And it’s the stylistic differences and sensitivity that fascinate me as a listener. But perhaps I’m just being ignorant and could very well do with more deeper listening…

      But all the best with your music, and keep creating! Perhaps one day my ears will be attuned to it better too. 🙂

  19. kurt nimmo Says:

    I guess… for those looking for traditional “music” drone-soundscapes come off as rather “uninspired” and “cold,” but I am usually not looking for melodies, not any more.

    Spent fifty years listening to “normal” melodic “music” and I am tired of it mostly, but that’s just me.

    Pierre Schaeffer is more interesting than the Beatles, but that’s just me.

    Sure, a lot of drones can be tedious, but sometimes that is the point. You’re not about to jump up and dance to a polyphonic texture, or hum it on the subway. I think people have the wrong idea. Much of this stuff is not “music,” it is an atmosphere.

    I love soundscapes, especially Mystified’s, and I like making them. Of course, the commercial potential of this stuff is almost nil and that’s why a lot of it is “free” on the net labels.

    I’d be happy to keep it that way, although people need to make a living and be compensated for their efforts. So I don’t hold it against them when they venture into more commercial territory.

  20. Brian Eno Says:

    Bugger off!!!


Leave a Reply

